Why I’m Writing

Comfort Others

When Amanda first died, I could not imagine what life was going to be like.  The situation seemed so overwhelming.  I began to search Scripture for some answers and some kind of peace.  Then, boom –“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction so that we will be able to comfort those who are in any affliction with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For just as the sufferings of Christ are ours in abundance, so also our comfort is abundant through Christ.” 2 Corinthians 1:3-5 (NASB)

I began to pray and feel the Lord calling me into a ministry of ministering to other Moms who had lost a child.  I talked to my husband and a few others, they basically had the same response – Amanda would want some good to come out of her death. I kept praying and studying, it’s always best to wait at least a year after losing someone before you make big decisions.  Then, our church began a Bible study titled “Experiencing God” by Henry Blackaby.  Well, through through studying Scripture, prayer, talking to others and the study, it was clear.  God is at work, I am to join Him, I am to comfort others with the comfort He has given me.

This is not easy for me.  The raw emotions of dealing with her death will be brought to the surface at times when I am not ready to deal with them.  Some of the things I will post were written months ago but I think it’s important everyone sees the whole journey, not just the easy stuff.  I am not a professional writer. I am not a Biblical scholar.  I am not a Doctor or Counselor.  I am just a Mom who lost a child.

This site is NOT to be substituted for professional help.
If you feel depressed, please seek professional assistance. Talk to your Doctor as soon as possible to let them know you need help.
The American Psychological Association can help you find a local Psychologist.
The American Psychiatric Association can help you find a Psychiatrist. Please never hesitate to seek professional help!

Leave a Reply

