He walks with me!

I pray for the Lord to wake me with a song in the mornings.  I song in my heart as I start my day.  It’s amazing to me at times the songs I “hear” when I awake.  Today, it is a very old song –

In the Garden

I come to the garden alone
While the dew is still on the rose
And the voice I hear, falling on my ear
The Son of God discloses

(Chorus)
And He walks with me
And He talks with me
And He tells me I am His own
And the joy we share as we tarry there
None other has ever known

He speaks and the sound of His voice
Is so sweet the birds hush their singing
And the melody that He gave to me
Within my heart is ringing
I’d stay in the garden with Him
‘Tho the night around me be falling
But He bids me go; through the voice of woe
His voice to me is calling          (lyrics by C Austin Miles) The story behind the song

 

It’s a wonderful blessing to have a Father, a Lord, a Comforter Who speaks to me, Who walks with me, Who loves me,  Who gives me peace and comfort.   And yes, I am tempted to just sit and stay within the garden, where it is peaceful and sweet.  But, He bids me to go, to share, to a life in this world of chaos, confusion, and calamities.  God wants me out there – in the world.  He does not want me to isolate myself. 

Yes, my daughter died.  Yes, I still hurt daily.  Yes, I still have times of great sorrow.  Yes, I still want to pick up the phone and call her.  Yes, I still have times of crying and weeping.   

BUT – I cannot isolate myself.  God is still there.  God is still in control.  He still talks to me, He walks with me and He calls me His very own.  I am a child of God.  Yes, He gives me hope.  Yes, He gives me comfort.  Yes, He gives me a purpose.  Yes, He gives me strength.  Yes, He gives me peace.  Yes, He gives me joy.

It’s easy to invite people to church, to tell them about the programs, how wonderful the people are and how accepting the church is to whatever you are living out in your life.  But, we are called to talk about HIM.  Jesus!   We have to tell our story of Him.  It is Jesus who saved me,  Jesus who gets me out of bed,   Jesus helps me get a bath and get dressed,  Jesus who gets me through each day.  Without Jesus, I would just quit.  With Jesus, I go on…..

I pray as you go through this journey after losing a child, you realize Jesus is the only way you can get through.  Jesus is the only way you will not be filled with bitterness, loneliness and deep sorrow.  Turn to Him, it’s the only way to get through losing a child. A Parent’s Worst Nightmare.

The Spirit Himself testifies with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, heirs also, heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him so that we may also be glorified with Him. Romans 8:16 (NASB)

One thought on “He walks with me!

  1. This blessed me today. I have sung that song often sing the death of my two year old son 38 years ago. I was only 24 years old when he died, but had my faith in God that has helped me along my journey. that you for your willingness to put yourself out there. I am sure it will be a help to others who have joined the club no parent wants to be a part of
    Thanks again for sharing your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

