Moms Protect

One thing a Mom does is try to keep her children safe and protected. When they are small children we teach safety rules – “don’t run with that stick”, “don’t talk to strangers”, “look both ways before you cross the street”, “stop that, you’re gonna fall” “don’t touch it, it’s hot”– all the don’ts and get offs– don’t climb on it, don’t jump from it, get off of it, get down from it, don’t touch it, don’t run with it. You know, all of that wise information. My father-in-law used to tell the children “don’t get in the water till you know how to swim”. We still use it on the grandchildren. – Still not sure how it works!

Why do we constantly say “don’t” and “get off”, because we have a fear of what is going to happen. We want to keep them safe. As Moms, we feel a responsibility to protect our children from harm. Like a mother hen we want to keep them under our wings and keep the outside world from hurting them. Only, it’s not possible all of the time. They end up with “boo-boos”. We know deep in our hearts we cannot protect them from everything, but we still try. We have a fear for our children though and as they age our fears get greater – they begin to drive, spend the night with others, make life changing decisions, get married, have children of their own. Still we want to protect them, we fear they are going to get hurt.  But, we also want them to enjoy life – to run, play, laugh, and have fun.

Job had fears for his children. After his children would party, he would make a sacrifice to the Lord on their behalf in case they had sinned. Then, what he feared most happened – Job 3:25 (AKJV) “For the thing which I greatly feared is come upon me, and that which I was afraid of is come unto me.” Those of us who have lost a child to death, know exactly what he means and how he felt. Our greatest fear for our child has come to pass. They died. There was nothing we could do to keep it from happening. Oh, there are times when you think “if only” but deep in your heart you know the “if only” is not going to change anything and would not have changed anything. They are only thoughts Satan puts in your heart and in your head to keep you down, to drown you in your sorrow.

So, now what? Our deepest fear for our child has come to pass. Well, we deal with today. Tomorrow has enough worries of its own. Seems too simple, doesn’t it?  Yesterday, I didn’t do so well, I gave in, I slept most of the day. The very thing I do not want to do, sleep my life away. Of course, I paid the price and have been up since 3 o’clock this morning. Therefore, today I will fight sleep all day. I will stay awake until it is time to go to bed. It’s the price I will pay for giving in. Today, thankfully is a Sunday. I will go to Church and worship with my brothers and sisters in Christ. I will be encouraged by them just being there. I will be encouraged by singing to the Lord in one voice, by hearing His word preached, by the children who always come up and hug me.

Today, I will remember to not give in and not give up.  Today, I will remember to not live in a spirit of fear, but to realize fear will steal my joy.  Fear will keep me from running, laughing, playing and enjoying today.  It’ll keep my children and grandchildren from enjoying life too.

I still have fears for my children and grandchildren. Especially when I see what is happening in the world today. But, I have to remember God does not give us a spirit of fear. I cannot let the fears, sorrows, grief, or worries of this life keep me from living for Him. Jesus has a purpose for me, He has a purpose for you too. God is at work all around us, I must move on with Him. Life on this side of eternity is not promised to be without hurts or anguish – God would have to apologize to the Apostles if that were the case. Nope, He promises He will be with us in the bad times and the good times

I think often of the times I sat on the bed with my daughter when she was a teenager, holding her because she needed me. She needed to cry and I am thankful I was there to hold her. Whether she had done something wrong, something wrong happened to her, she was hurt or someone had died, she would turn to me. I love those memories, not the hurt she felt ( I wanted more than anything to take those away) because she turned to me – it was a feeling of pure love – she trusted me.

Those memories remind me of Jesus. Jesus wants me to turn to Him with all of my hurts and my fears. Jesus will hold me and allow me to cry on His shoulder. I am to pour out my heart to Him, I am to praise Him, thank Him, rely on Him – Jesus loves me, He loves you too. He will bandage our wounds and kiss our boo-boos! One day, I will live in the house of the LORD forever, until then He is here with me – guiding me, comforting me, protecting me, giving me a spirit of boldness and blessings beyond measure. In Him alone will I put my trust!

“A psalm of David.
The LORD is my shepherd; I have all that I need.
He lets me rest in green meadows; he leads me beside peaceful streams.
He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to his name.
Even when I walk through the darkest valley,
I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me.
Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.
You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies.
You honor me by anointing my head with oil.
My cup overflows with blessings.
Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me
all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the LORD forever.”
Psalms 23 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

